Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Russia/Syria: War Crimes in Month of Bombing Aleppo

UN General Assembly Should Organize Emergency Special Session

Thursday 01st Dec 2016

  • Latest News
  • Middle East/N. Africa

(New York, November 30, 2016) – The Russian-Syrian coalition committed war crimes during a month-long aerial bombing campaign of opposition-controlled territory in Aleppo in September and October 2016, Human Rights Watch said today.

 

The Violations Documentation Center, a Syrian civil monitoring organization, documented that the bombing campaign killed more than 440 civilians, including more than 90 children. Airstrikes often appeared to be recklessly indiscriminate, deliberately targeted at least one medical facility, and included the use of indiscriminate weapons such as cluster munitions and incendiary weapons. Satellite imagery that Human Rights Watch analyzed shows more than 950 new distinct impact sites consistent with the detonation of large high explosive bombs across the area during the month.

PHOTOS (2)

MAP/SATELLITE (5)

MORE LATEST NEWS

Kazakhstan: Workers’ Rights Violated, Restricted

Friday 25th Nov 2016

Length 2:24

Fix Labor Laws, End Hostile Environment

2 0 0 0 0 0
Burma: New Wave of Destruction in Rohingya Villages

Monday 21st Nov 2016

 

820 Newly Identified Destroyed Buildings; UN-Aided Investigation Urgently Needed

0 0 0 0 6 0
Iraqi Kurdistan: Arab Homes Destroyed After ISIS Battles

Sunday 13th Nov 2016

Length 01:08

Peshmerga Attacks Have Dire Implications for Mosul Fight

1 0 4 0 8 0
Iraq: Fleeing ISIS Forces Fired Toxic Chemicals

Friday 11th Nov 2016

Length 00:22

Three Attacks Cause Painful Burns in Qayyarah, South of Mosul

2 0 2 0 0 0
Australia: Protests Prompt Ethiopia Reprisals

Monday 07th Nov 2016

Length 2:22

Visa for Abusive Ethiopian Official Raises Concerns

2 0 0 0 0 0
Belgium: Response to Attacks Raises Rights Concerns

Friday 04th Nov 2016

Length 05:21

Overbroad Laws, Abusive Policing Undermine Counterterror Efforts

3 0 0 0 0 0
Burma: Farmers Targets of Land Grabs

Thursday 03rd Nov 2016

Length 2:59

Livelihoods in Karen State Imperiled by Abusive Militias, Laws, and Local Officials

2 0 5 0 0 0
Gambia: Crackdown Threatens Presidential Election

Wednesday 02nd Nov 2016

Length 03:30

Donors Should Impose Sanctions if Abuses Persist

3 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic: Deadly Raid on Displaced People

Tuesday 01st Nov 2016

Length 02:15

Increased Protection from UN Peacekeepers Needed

2 0 5 6 0 0
Syria: Improvised Mines Kill, Injure Hundreds in Manbij

Wednesday 26th Oct 2016

Length 4:11

Lessons for Impending Battles in Iraq and Syria

2 0 9 0 0 0
Venezuela: Government Assails Critics as Crisis Deepens

Monday 24th Oct 2016

Length 9:46

Urgent Measures Needed to Address Shortages of Medicine, Food

3 0 9 0 0 0
Azerbaijan: Relentless Crackdown on Critics

Thursday 20th Oct 2016

Length 1:15

False Front of Reform; Revolving Door of Arrests

1 0 0 0 0 0

SIMILAR STORIES

War Crimes Prosecutions in Europe

Thursday 20th Oct 2016

Length 02:14

First Cracks to Impunity in Syria, Iraq

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Pre-election Crackdown in Chechnya

Wednesday 31st Aug 2016

 

Sweeping Repression Against Critics

0 0 12 0 0 0
Jordan: Further Expand Education Access for Syrian Refugees

Tuesday 16th Aug 2016

Length 10:17

At Least 80,000 Syrian Children Out of School

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: 250,000 Syrian Children Out of School

Tuesday 19th Jul 2016

Length 09:00

Residency Rules, Child Labor Among Barriers for Refugees

2 0 9 0 0 0
Yemen: Coalition Airstrikes Target Civilian Factories

Monday 11th Jul 2016

 

Unlawful Attacks Harm Economy, Show Need for Victim Compensation

2 0 13 0 0 0
Turkey: Border Guards Kill and Injure Asylum Seekers

Tuesday 10th May 2016

Length 1:50

Border Lockdown Puts Syrian Lives at Risk

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Security Forces Storming Prison

Friday 06th May 2016

Length 00:25

Concerns for Safety of Inmates, Hostages

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Residency Rules Put Syrians at Risk

Tuesday 12th Jan 2016

Length 03:52

Year After Adoption, Requirements Heighten Exploitation, Abuse

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Stories Behind Photos of Killed Detainees

Wednesday 16th Dec 2015

Length 11:45

Caesar Photos’ Victims Identified

2 0 10 0 0 0
Desperate Journey: Europe’s Refugee Crisis

Tuesday 17th Nov 2015

Length 06:58

2 0 3 0 0 0
Turkey: 400,000 Syrian Children Not in School

Monday 09th Nov 2015

Length 04:35

Language, Economic Hardship Keep Young Refugees Out of Class

2 0 0 0 0 0
Hungary: Inside Röszke Detention Centers

Thursday 10th Sep 2015

Length 05:05

Ensure Adequate Access to Food, Water, Medical Care

2 0 1 0 0 0

MOST VIEWED

Yemen: Cluster Munitions Harm Civilians

Sunday 31st May 2015

 

Documented Use of 3 Varieties

0 0 10 0 0 0
Ciudadanos dominicanos en riesgo de ser expulsados a Haití

Thursday 18th Jun 2015

Length 05:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Transgender Women Abused in Immigration Detention

Wednesday 23rd Mar 2016

Length 3:17

Face Sexual Assault, Solitary Confinement

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: 250,000 Syrian Children Out of School

Tuesday 19th Jul 2016

Length 09:00

Residency Rules, Child Labor Among Barriers for Refugees

2 0 9 0 0 0
US: California Bill to Protect Youth Miranda Rights

Friday 19th Aug 2016

Length 04:50

Video Highlights Children’s Vulnerability to Coerced Confessions

1 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic

Wednesday 14th Jan 2015

Length 13:12

Multimedia Recounts 2014 Violence

2 0 1 0 0 0
INDONESIA: ‘VIRGINITY TESTS’ FOR FEMALE POLICE

Wednesday 12th Nov 2014

Length 03:38

‘Testing’ Applicants Is Discriminatory, Cruel, Degrading

3 0 0 0 0 0
MALAYSIA: TRANSGENDER PEOPLE UNDER THREAT

Wednesday 24th Sep 2014

Length 03:28

Eliminate Discriminatory Laws, Practices; End Violence

2 0 0 0 0 0
KENYA: FACTORY POISONS COMMUNITY

Tuesday 24th Jun 2014

Length 06:29

2 0 1 0 0 0
PAKISTAN: RAMPANT KILLINGS OF SHIA BY EXTREMISTS

Monday 30th Jun 2014

Length 04:20

Disarm, Prosecute Militants, Protect Hazara Community

2 0 0 0 0 0
ZAMBIA: PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES LEFT BEHIND IN HIV RESPONSE

Tuesday 15th Jul 2014

Length 05:53

Remove Barriers to HIV Education, Testing and Treatment

3 0 0 0 0 0