Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Monitoring, Community Mental Health Services Needed to End Abuse

Tuesday 09 October 2018

(London, October 10, 2018) – Hundreds of people with real or perceived mental health conditions remain chained or confined in prayer camps in Ghana, despite some progress, one year after the government pledged to enforce a ban on shackling, Human Rights Watch said today on World Mental Health Day.

The government of Ghana should take immediate steps to end shackling establishing a monitoring system to ensure enforcement of the ban, and further developing community mental health services. As part of the Inaugural Global Summit on Mental Health, hosted by the United Kingdom on October 9-10, 2018, Ghana should reaffirm its commitment to a rights-based approach to mental health and meaningful consultation with people with psychosocial disabilities (mental health conditions).

PHOTOS (4)

MORE DISABILITIES
ALL STORIES

Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 4 0 0 0
Indonesia: Shackling Reduced, But Persists

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 05:45

4 0 18 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Refugees with Disabilities

Monday 24 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Sunday 23 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 1 0 0
Nepal: Barriers to Inclusive Education

Thursday 13 September 2018

Length 01:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: People With Disabilities Confined in Terrible Conditions

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Length 06:52

4 0 10 0 0 0
India: Remove Hurdles to Justice for Women with Disabilities

Tuesday 03 April 2018

Length 05:55

4 0 5 0 0 0
Australia: Prisoners with Disabilities Neglected, Abused

Tuesday 06 February 2018

Length 03:15

3 0 8 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ghana Breaks The Chains On Mental Health

Monday 16 October 2017

Length 01:24

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ghana: People with Disabilities Freed from Chains

Friday 07 July 2017

Length 00:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic: People with Disabilities at High Risk

Wednesday 21 June 2017

Length 1:52

2 0 12 0 0 0
Nujeen to EU: Refugees with Disabilities Deserve Better

Wednesday 31 May 2017

Length 1:26

2 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Refugees with Disabilities Overlooked, Underserved

Wednesday 18 January 2017

Length 03:13

3 0 8 0 0 0
World Report 2017: Demagogues Threaten Human Rights

Thursday 12 January 2017

Length 02:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
World Report 2017: Demagogues Threaten Human Rights

Thursday 12 January 2017

Length 02:26

1 0 0 0 0 0