Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Gaps in Care Endanger Health; Contribute to Epidemic

Tuesday 20 November 2018

(Miami, November 20, 2018) – Florida fails to deliver basic HIV services to many transgender women, endangering their health and contributing to an uncontrolled HIV epidemic in the state, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today.

The 88 page report, “Living at Risk: Transgender Women, HIV and Human Rights in South Florida,” documents the harmful impact of state and federal policies on transgender women in two Florida counties – Miami-Dade and Broward – that have the highest rates of new HIV infection in the United States. Many women interviewed said they experience disrespect, mistreatment, and in some cases, denial of services from government-funded clinics. Florida’s inaccurate and incomplete data collection on HIV among transgender people leaves them undercounted and excluded from government programs to address the epidemic.

MORE LGBT
ALL STORIES

Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 04:19

3 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0
India: Supreme Court Strikes Down Sodomy Law

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 01:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Length 05:21

3 0 0 0 0 0
Indonesia: Anti-LGBT Crackdown Fuels Health Crisis

Sunday 01 July 2018

Length 03:09

2 0 0 0 0 0
Court Ruling Upholds Right of Same-Sex Couple to Live in Romania

Thursday 07 June 2018

Length 2:33

2 0 0 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ghana: Discrimination, Violence against LGBT People

Monday 08 January 2018

Length 5:00

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Doctors Need Intersex Care Standards

Thursday 26 October 2017

Length 16:47

3 0 1 0 0 0
US: Harmful Surgery on Intersex Children

Tuesday 25 July 2017

Length 6:00

3 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: LGBT Students Face Bullying, Abuse

Thursday 22 June 2017

Length 3:44

3 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Anti-Gay Purge in Chechnya

Friday 26 May 2017

Length 1:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
World Report 2017: Demagogues Threaten Human Rights

Thursday 12 January 2017

Length 02:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
World Report 2017: Demagogues Threaten Human Rights

Thursday 12 January 2017

Length 02:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: Policy Failures Fuel HIV Epidemic

Thursday 08 December 2016

Length 3:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
United States: LGBT Students Face Discrimination

Wednesday 07 December 2016

Length 03:26

3 0 0 0 0 0