Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Lebanon: End Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women

Protect Against Discrimination, Simplify Legal Gender Recognition

Tuesday 03 September 2019


(Beirut, September 3, 2019) –Transgender women in Lebanon face systemic violence and discrimination, Human Rights Watch, Helem, and MOSAIC said in a report and video released today. Transgender women face discrimination in accessing basic services, including employment, healthcare, and housing, as well as violence from security forces and ordinary citizens. For its 120-page report, “’Don’t Punish Me for Who I Am’: Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women in Lebanon,” Human Rights Watch, in collaboration with Helem and MOSAIC, interviewed 50 transgender women in Lebanon, including 24 Lebanese trans women, 25 trans refugees and asylum seekers from other Arab countries, and one stateless trans woman, as well as human rights activists, representatives of international agencies, lawyers, academics, and healthcare professionals who work with trans individuals in Lebanon. 

MORE MIDDLE EAST/N. AFRICA
ALL STORIES

Lebanon: End Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Mashrou’ Leila is Lebanon’s Latest Free Speech Victim

Friday 26 July 2019

Length 00:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Water Crisis in Basra

Monday 22 July 2019

Length 03:57

3 0 5 4 2 0
Lebanon: Syrian Refugee Shelters Demolished

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 01:35

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Government Co-Opting Recovery Efforts

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 02:06

2 0 0 0 0 0
Facing the Myths

Monday 24 June 2019

Length 11:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Serious Abuses, War Crimes in North Sinai

Tuesday 28 May 2019

Length 3:49

2 0 5 2 0 0
Iraq: ISIS Child Suspects Arbitrarily Arrested, Tortured

Wednesday 06 March 2019

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Scant Help to Bring Home ISIS Members’ Children


Monday 11 February 2019

Length 02:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: 10 Reasons Why Women Flee

Thursday 31 January 2019

Length 01:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
Libya: Displaced Population Can’t Go Home

Thursday 24 January 2019

Length 02:03

2 0 0 0 0 0
Libya: Nightmarish Detention for Migrants, Asylum Seekers

Monday 21 January 2019

Length 01:36

1 0 0 5 0 0
Israel: Airbnb to End Settlement Rentals

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Palestine: Authorities Crush Dissent

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 05:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: No Action to Enforce New Waste Law

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Residents Blocked From Returning

Monday 15 October 2018

Length 1:09

1 0 0 0 3 0