Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Young Rural Black Women’s Struggle in the Covid-19 Era

By Amanda Furdge and Annerieke Daniel

Friday 30 October 2020


Earlier this year, we spoke to a 17-year-old from rural Bolivar county, Mississippi who had been planning to head to college this fall, the first in her family to attend. She had to put aside her plans when the Covid-19 pandemic struck. Instead she found herself caring for her ailing grandmother and setting up a K-5 classroom at her dining room table in the family’s trailer to teach her younger siblings. She had to quit her job at Dollar General, where she was earning money for college, to protect her family’s safety.

MORE UNITED STATES
ALL STORIES

Young Rural Black Women’s Struggle in the Covid-19 Era

Friday 30 October 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
US Vote 2020

Friday 23 October 2020

Length 01:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Gig Economy Hurts Workers

Thursday 15 October 2020

Length 03:57

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: New York Police Planned Assault on Bronx Protesters

Wednesday 30 September 2020

Length 12:43

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Officials’ Pandemic Response Impaired Right to Vote

Tuesday 22 September 2020

Length 3:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Probation, Parole Feed Mass Incarceration Crisis

Friday 31 July 2020

Length 03:34

1 0 21 0 0 0
Alabama Sex-Ed

Wednesday 08 July 2020

Length 02:55

3 0 0 0 0 0
Take Action to #KeepWaterOn in the US

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
US Protests Video – Social Media

Saturday 06 June 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ohio, Texas Use COVID-19 to Stop Abortions

Friday 27 March 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Vote 2020 with Nicole Austin-Hillery

Monday 24 February 2020

Length 04:06

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: How Abusive, Biased Policing Destroys Lives

Thursday 12 September 2019

Length 04:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Meatpacking Workers' Rights Under Threat

Wednesday 04 September 2019

Length 01:03

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Massachusetts Should End Child Marriage

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 02:10

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Protect Right to Asylum for Domestic Violence

Wednesday 23 January 2019

Length 04:11

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0