Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Congress Should Preserve and Improve U Visa Program

Tuesday 03 July 2018


(New York, July 3, 2018) – Undocumented immigrants brave enough to come forward to report crime, need to know they can safely approach police without fear of deportation, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Congress should preserve and expand provisions in the Violence Against Women Act that allow courageous undocumented immigrants to safely report crime. 

The U visa, created with strong bi-partisan support as part of the 2000 Violence Against Women Act, creates a path for crime victims who cooperate in investigations of serious crimes to apply for legal status in the US. The program is up for renewal this year.

Based on interviews with law enforcement in five states, immigration lawyers and crime victims, the 43-page report, “Immigrant Crime Fighters: How the U Visa Program Makes US Communities Safer,” highlights stories of undocumented immigrants who courageously came forward to assist in the investigations of rapes, robberies, and attempted murders. 

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Canada: Bring Home ISIS Suspects and Relatives from Syria

Monday 29 June 2020

Length 02:14

2 0 0 0 0 0
Take Action to #KeepWaterOn in the US

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
Jordan: Secondary School Gap for Syrian Refugee Kids

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
France: Children Face Abusive, Racist Police Stops

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 04:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
#RatifyC190: End Violence, Harassment at Work

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 02:39

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mexico: Families Abuse, Neglect People with Disabilities

Thursday 04 June 2020

Length 02:13

1 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
If Not Now, When?

Thursday 07 May 2020

Length 03:36

3 0 10 0 0 0
Into the Abyss

Monday 04 May 2020

Length 00:50

5 0 5 0 2 0
Greece: Refugees Working to Protect Moria Camp from Covid-19

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Length 02:16

1 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Dam Displacement Destroys Livelihoods

Thursday 16 April 2020

Length 02:12

2 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Unsafe Water Raises COVID-19 Risks

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Length 03:51

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kids Talk Coronavirus

Thursday 09 April 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 Response Update

Tuesday 07 April 2020

Length 02:01

1 0 0 0 0 0