Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Senior Officials Implicated in Nonstop Regimen of Abuse

Wednesday 04 July 2018


(Nairobi, July 5, 2018) – Prison officials and security forces have arbitrarily detained and tortured prisoners for years in the notorious regional prison known as Jail Ogaden, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Ethiopia’s new prime minister Dr. Abiy Ahmed, should urgently order investigations into the horrific situation, and the government should ensure regional security forces and officials are held accountable. The report, “‘We are Like the Dead’: Torture and other Human Rights Abuses in Jail Ogaden, Somali Regional State, Ethiopia,” describes a brutal and relentless pattern of abuse, torture, rape, and humiliation, with little access to medical care, family, lawyers, or even at times to food. The prison’s security forces, including the Somali Region’s notorious paramilitary force, the Liyu police, are implicated. The unit reports to the Somali Region president, Abdi Mohamoud Omar, known as Abdi Illey. Most prisoners are accused of some affiliation with the Ogaden National Liberation Front (ONLF), a banned opposition group, but most never face charges or trials.

PHOTOS (9)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Rights, Transparency Central for Covid-19 Vaccines

Thursday 29 October 2020

Length 1:22

1 0 0 0 0 0
US Vote 2020

Friday 23 October 2020

Length 01:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
Cambodia: Hun Sen and His Abusive Generals

Wednesday 21 October 2020

Length 01:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Canada: Climate Crisis Toll on First Nations’ Food Supply

Wednesday 21 October 2020

Length 09:57

3 0 13 0 0 0
DR Congo: Wanted Warlord Preys on Civilians

Monday 19 October 2020

Length 02:56

2 0 0 0 0 0
India: Women at Risk of Sexual Abuse at Work

Wednesday 14 October 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Abusive Treatment of Returnees

Tuesday 13 October 2020

Length 03:38

2 0 0 0 0 0
Anti-LGBT Persecution in El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras

Wednesday 07 October 2020

Length 03:11

2 0 0 0 0 0
People with Mental Health Conditions Living in Chains

Tuesday 06 October 2020

Length 05;15

2 0 28 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: ‘Image Laundering’ Conceals Abuses

Friday 02 October 2020

Length 01:27

1 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Security Forces Abuse, Torture LGBT People

Thursday 01 October 2020

Length 03:49

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: New York Police Planned Assault on Bronx Protesters

Wednesday 30 September 2020

Length 12:43

3 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Security Forces Failed to Stem Election Violence

Friday 25 September 2020

Length 03:27

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Officials’ Pandemic Response Impaired Right to Vote

Tuesday 22 September 2020

Length 3:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Widespread Xenophobic Violence

Thursday 17 September 2020

Length 00:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Covid-19 Rules Blocked Access to Pensions

Wednesday 16 September 2020

Length 02:10

1 0 0 0 0 0
Australia: Deaths of Prisoners with Disabilities

Tuesday 15 September 2020

Length 02:11

2 0 5 0 0 0
Belarus: Systematic Beatings, Torture of Protesters

Tuesday 15 September 2020

Length 02:17

1 0 0 0 0 0