Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

New Video Shows Impact of Separation From Children

Thursday 06 September 2018


(Tegucigalpa, September 5, 2018) — Hundreds of children remain detained in the US and separated from their parents more than five weeks after a court-ordered deadline to reunify them, Human Rights Watch said today in releasing a new video with Justice in Motion. About 360 of these still-separated parents were deported alone without the children with whom they traveled to the US. “The anguish of these families is palpable,” said Clara Long, senior researcher with the US Program at Human Rights Watch. “Not knowing how their children are or why the government won’t release them causes tremendous strain.”

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Ethiopian Migrants

Thursday 06 August 2020

Length 03:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
India: Abuses Persist in Jammu and Kashmir

Monday 03 August 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Belarus: Crackdown on Political Activists, Journalist

Thursday 30 July 2020

Length 01:25

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Mau Forest Evictees’ Plight Intensifies

Thursday 23 July 2020

Length 02:18

2 0 0 0 0 0
Japan: Child Abuse in Pursuit of Olympic Medals

Monday 20 July 2020

Length 01:30

1 0 4 0 0 0
The Future We Build Together

Monday 13 July 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Alabama Sex-Ed

Wednesday 08 July 2020

Length 02:55

3 0 0 0 0 0
Canada: Bring Home ISIS Suspects and Relatives from Syria

Monday 29 June 2020

Length 02:14

2 0 0 0 0 0
Take Action to #KeepWaterOn in the US

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
Jordan: Secondary School Gap for Syrian Refugee Kids

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
France: Children Face Abusive, Racist Police Stops

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 04:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
#RatifyC190: End Violence, Harassment at Work

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 02:39

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mexico: Families Abuse, Neglect People with Disabilities

Thursday 04 June 2020

Length 02:13

1 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0