Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Israel Orders Human Rights Watch Official Deported

Government-Compiled Dossier Accuses Organization of Promoting Boycotts

Wednesday 16 May 2018

(Jerusalem) – Israeli authorities on May 7, 2018, revoked the work permit for Omar Shakir, the Human Rights Watch Israel and Palestine director, and ordered him to leave Israel within 14 days. The government said it was because of Shakir’s alleged support for boycotts of Israel.

Authorities based the decision on a dossier a government ministry compiled on Shakir’s activities spanning over a decade, almost all of them predating his Human Rights Watch employment. The decision comes a year after the Interior Ministry granted Human Rights Watch a permit to employ Shakir as a foreign expert, after initially refusing to issue it.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Addressing the human rights and humanitarian crisis

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:32

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthi Hostage-Taking

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:55

1 0 2 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Refugees with Disabilities

Monday 24 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Sunday 23 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 1 0 0
Nepal: Barriers to Inclusive Education

Thursday 13 September 2018

Length 01:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
China: Massive Crackdown in Muslim Region

Monday 10 September 2018

Length 03:33

3 0 10 0 0 0
India: Supreme Court Strikes Down Sodomy Law

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 01:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Refugee Crisis Requires Concerted Regional Response

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 2:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Coalition Fails on its Promises to Curtail Violations

Friday 24 August 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Chilling Accounts of Torture, Deaths

Sunday 19 August 2018

0 0 0 4 0 0
Egypt: No Justice For Rab’a Victims 5 Years On

Monday 13 August 2018

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Endure Floods, Landslides

Sunday 05 August 2018

Length 01:57

2 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Landmark Proposals on Gender Bias, Privacy

Thursday 26 July 2018

Length 1:23

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Length 05:21

3 0 0 0 0 0