Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Senior Officials Implicated in Nonstop Regimen of Abuse

Wednesday 04 July 2018

(Nairobi, July 5, 2018) – Prison officials and security forces have arbitrarily detained and tortured prisoners for years in the notorious regional prison known as Jail Ogaden, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Ethiopia’s new prime minister Dr. Abiy Ahmed, should urgently order investigations into the horrific situation, and the government should ensure regional security forces and officials are held accountable.

The report, “‘We are Like the Dead’: Torture and other Human Rights Abuses in Jail Ogaden, Somali Regional State, Ethiopia,” describes a brutal and relentless pattern of abuse, torture, rape, and humiliation, with little access to medical care, family, lawyers, or even at times to food. The prison’s security forces, including the Somali Region’s notorious paramilitary force, the Liyu police, are implicated. The unit reports to the Somali Region president, Abdi Mohamoud Omar, known as Abdi Illey. Most prisoners are accused of some affiliation with the Ogaden National Liberation Front (ONLF), a banned opposition group, but most never face charges or trials.

PHOTOS (9)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0
Greece: Violent Pushbacks at Turkey Border

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 00:50

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Harassment of Environmental Activists

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 03:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: New Groups Killing Afro-Colombians

Thursday 13 December 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Adult Prospects Dim for Youth with Disabilities

Thursday 06 December 2018

Length 005:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Barriers to Free Movement for Older People

Thursday 29 November 2018

Length 01:10

2 0 4 0 0 0
US: Cervical Cancer Deaths Up for Black Women

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Length 05:18

3 0 2 0 0 0
Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 04:19

3 0 0 0 0 0
Israel: Airbnb to End Settlement Rentals

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Monday 19 November 2018

Length 4:44

3 0 4 0 0 0
Venezuela: Numbers Highlight Health Crisis

Thursday 15 November 2018

0 0 26 0 1 0
Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 00:37

6 0 0 0 0 0
North Korea: Sexual Violence Against Women by Officials

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 04:38

3 0 12 0 0 0
Turkey: Workers Behind Bars as Airport Opens

Monday 29 October 2018

Length 01:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0