Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Myanmar: Farmers Seek Return of Seized Land

Reform Laws to Protect Rights of Small Landowners

Tuesday 17 July 2018


(Yangon, July 17, 2018) – The government of Myanmar should promptly provide redress for past illegal confiscations of land, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The government should also enact laws and regulations to safeguard the rights of farmers and other small landholders from future confiscations.

Over the past 30 years, Myanmar government and military officials have seized vast swathes of land from farmers while providing them no or inadequate compensation, which denies them livelihoods and erodes access to basic services. Many farmers have faced criminal prosecution for protesting the lack of redress and refusing to leave or cease work on the land that was taken from them.

PHOTOS (5)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Colombia/Venezuela: Armed Groups Control Lives at Border

Wednesday 22 January 2020

Length 02:08

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chinese Government Poses Global Threat to Human Rights

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Length 02:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0
Surge in Garment Industry Transparency

Wednesday 18 December 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 2 0 0
Israel/West Bank: Grant Palestinians Equal Rights

Tuesday 17 December 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Failure to End Abuses in Quranic Schools

Monday 16 December 2019

0 0 11 0 0 0
Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ethnic Discrimination a Key Barrier

Thursday 12 December 2019

Length 02:06

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Camp Conditions Endanger Women, Girls

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 03:01

2 0 7 0 0 0
Gambia: Commission Uncovers Ex-Dictator’s Alleged Crimes

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 04:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Children Denied Education

Monday 02 December 2019

Length 01;00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Development Banks Linked to Palm Oil Abuses

Monday 25 November 2019

Length 01:00

2 0 11 0 5 0
Sudan: Justice Needed for Protester Killings

Monday 18 November 2019

Length 01:11

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Defamation Laws Used to Silence Critics

Friday 15 November 2019

Length 02:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
Algeria: Escalating Repression of Protesters

Thursday 14 November 2019

Length 01:41

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Teargas Cartridges Killing Protesters

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
UAE: Political Detainees Languish Behind Bars

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Croatia Slams Door on Migrants

Friday 08 November 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0