Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Strip Anti-LGBT Amendment from Funding Package

Wednesday 25 July 2018


Child welfare agencies could be allowed to discriminate under a recent amendment to legislation pending before Congress that would threaten the rights of children in care, Human Rights Watch said in a video released today. The amendment would ban the federal government from withholding support from child welfare providers that refuse to provide services because of their religious or moral beliefs. The amendment would also apply to state and local governments that receive federal funding for child welfare services. It would make it much harder to stop agencies that receive federal funding from refusing to place children for adoption or foster care with lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) people, single or divorced people, people of a different faith, or anyone else they deem unacceptable based on the agency’s beliefs.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Lebanon: Syrian Refugee Shelters Demolished

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 01:35

2 0 0 0 0 0
Crimean Tatars Face Unfounded Terrorism Charges

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 03:55

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Congo Warlord Guilty of Crimes Against Humanity

Monday 08 July 2019

Length 01:59

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Government Co-Opting Recovery Efforts

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 02:06

2 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: ‘Drug War’ Devastates Children’s Lives

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 4 0 0 0
Gambia: Women Accuse Ex-President of Sexual Violence

Wednesday 26 June 2019

Length 03:42

2 0 4 0 0 0
Facing the Myths

Monday 24 June 2019

Length 11:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: Gezi Protests Trial to Begin

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 01:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nicaragua: Targeted Sanctions, Justice Key to Curb Abuses

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

Tuesday 18 June 2019

Length 01:25

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: “Money Slipped through My Fingers Like Water”

Friday 14 June 2019

Length 00:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Policies Fuel Teen Pregnancy

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 9:05

1 0 17 0 0 0
Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Senegal: Unchecked Abuses in Quranic Schools

Tuesday 11 June 2019

0 0 9 0 0 0
Honduras: Abortion Ban’s Dire Consequences

Thursday 06 June 2019

0 0 3 2 0 0
South Sudan: Government Forces Abusing Civilians

Tuesday 04 June 2019

Length 02:07

2 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Serious Abuses, War Crimes in North Sinai

Tuesday 28 May 2019

Length 3:49

2 0 5 2 0 0
European Elections 2019

Monday 06 May 2019

Length 01:30

10 0 0 0 0 0