Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Uganda: No Justice for 2016 Kasese Massacre by Security Forces

Ongoing Tensions; Many Civilians Still Detained

Wednesday 10 October 2018

(Nairobi, October 10, 2018) – Ugandan authorities have failed to investigate the police and military responsible for killing more than 100 people in western Uganda in 2016, Human Rights Watch said today, releasing a video featuring interviews with victims’ families. Those killed on November 26 and 27, 2016 in Kasese, home of the Rwenzururu kingdom, included at least 15 children. “Ugandan officials won’t even ask why overwhelming lethal force was used that day and why children died, which shows a terrifying disdain for human life,” said Maria Burnett, East Africa director at Human Rights Watch. “Security forces shoot, kill, arrest, detain and torture civilians, charge them with serious crimes, such as treason, and yet the government only investigates the civilians, while giving the security forces a free pass to abuse again.”

PHOTOS (2)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Palestine: Authorities Crush Dissent

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 05:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Monday 22 October 2018

Length 00:37

3 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Ensure Justice for Abuses in Jail Ogaden

Friday 19 October 2018

Length 01:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Teen Girls Sexually Exploited, Harassed in Schools

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:51

1 0 2 0 0 0
Lebanon: No Action to Enforce New Waste Law

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Residents Blocked From Returning

Monday 15 October 2018

Length 1:09

1 0 0 0 3 0
Uganda: No Justice for 2016 Kasese Massacre by Security Forces

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 2 0 0 0
Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 4 0 0 0
Eritrea: Diplomacy Changes, but Political Prisoners Remain

Thursday 04 October 2018

Length 02:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Discriminatory Nationality Law

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 03:14

1 0 0 0 0 0
Indonesia: Shackling Reduced, But Persists

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 05:45

4 0 18 0 0 0
Iraq: Secret Detention, No Recourse

Thursday 27 September 2018

Length 02:38

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Addressing the human rights and humanitarian crisis

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:32

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthi Hostage-Taking

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:55

1 0 2 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Refugees with Disabilities

Monday 24 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Sunday 23 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 1 0 0