Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Palestine: Authorities Crush Dissent

Arbitrary Arrests, Torture Systematic

Tuesday 23 October 2018

(Ramallah, October 23, 2018) – The Fatah-led Palestinian Authority in the West Bank and Hamas authorities in Gaza routinely arrest and torture peaceful critics and opponents, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. As the Palestinian Authority-Hamas feud has deepened, each has targeted the other’s supporters. The 145-page report, “Two Authorities, One Way, Zero Dissent,” evaluates patterns of arrest and detention conditions in the West Bank and Gaza Strip 25 years after the Oslo Accords granted Palestinians a degree of self-rule over these areas, and more than a decade after Hamas seized effective control over the Gaza Strip. Human Rights Watch detailed more than two dozen cases of people detained for no clear reason beyond writing a critical article or Facebook post or belonging to the wrong student group or political movement.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Libya: Nightmarish Detention for Migrants, Asylum Seekers

Monday 21 January 2019

Length 01:36

1 0 0 5 0 0
World Report 2019: Reversing Autocrats’ Attacks on Rights

Thursday 17 January 2019

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Suspected Plotters Tortured

Wednesday 09 January 2019

Length 01:50

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0
Greece: Violent Pushbacks at Turkey Border

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 00:50

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Harassment of Environmental Activists

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 03:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: New Groups Killing Afro-Colombians

Thursday 13 December 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Adult Prospects Dim for Youth with Disabilities

Thursday 06 December 2018

Length 005:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Barriers to Free Movement for Older People

Thursday 29 November 2018

Length 01:10

2 0 4 0 0 0
US: Cervical Cancer Deaths Up for Black Women

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Length 05:18

3 0 2 0 0 0
Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 04:19

3 0 0 0 0 0
Israel: Airbnb to End Settlement Rentals

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Monday 19 November 2018

Length 4:44

3 0 4 0 0 0
Venezuela: Numbers Highlight Health Crisis

Thursday 15 November 2018

0 0 26 0 1 0
Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0