Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Gaps in Care Endanger Health; Contribute to Epidemic

Tuesday 20 November 2018


(Miami, November 20, 2018) – Florida fails to deliver basic HIV services to many transgender women, endangering their health and contributing to an uncontrolled HIV epidemic in the state, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The 88 page report, “Living at Risk: Transgender Women, HIV and Human Rights in South Florida,” documents the harmful impact of state and federal policies on transgender women in two Florida counties – Miami-Dade and Broward – that have the highest rates of new HIV infection in the United States. Many women interviewed said they experience disrespect, mistreatment, and in some cases, denial of services from government-funded clinics. Florida’s inaccurate and incomplete data collection on HIV among transgender people leaves them undercounted and excluded from government programs to address the epidemic.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Ethiopian Migrants

Thursday 06 August 2020

Length 03:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
India: Abuses Persist in Jammu and Kashmir

Monday 03 August 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Belarus: Crackdown on Political Activists, Journalist

Thursday 30 July 2020

Length 01:25

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Mau Forest Evictees’ Plight Intensifies

Thursday 23 July 2020

Length 02:18

2 0 0 0 0 0
Japan: Child Abuse in Pursuit of Olympic Medals

Monday 20 July 2020

Length 01:30

1 0 4 0 0 0
The Future We Build Together

Monday 13 July 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Alabama Sex-Ed

Wednesday 08 July 2020

Length 02:55

3 0 0 0 0 0
Canada: Bring Home ISIS Suspects and Relatives from Syria

Monday 29 June 2020

Length 02:14

2 0 0 0 0 0
Take Action to #KeepWaterOn in the US

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
Jordan: Secondary School Gap for Syrian Refugee Kids

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
France: Children Face Abusive, Racist Police Stops

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 04:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
#RatifyC190: End Violence, Harassment at Work

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 02:39

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mexico: Families Abuse, Neglect People with Disabilities

Thursday 04 June 2020

Length 02:13

1 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0