Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Kenya: Harassment of Environmental Activists

Arrested, Interrogated, Detained

Monday 17 December 2018

(Nairobi, December 17, 2018) – Kenyan police and the military are harassing and intimidating environmental rights activists in Lamu county, coast region, Human Rights Watch and the National Coalition of Human Rights Defenders-Kenya said in a report released today.

The 69-page report, “‘They Just Want to Silence Us’: Abuses Against Environmental Activists at Kenya’s Coast Region,” describes the context for activism around The Lamu Port-South Sudan-Ethiopia Transport corridor project (LAPSSET) and associated development projects, and documents the obstacles activists face in speaking out publicly about their concerns. At least 35 activists campaigning against the region’s mega infrastructure and transport projects have faced threats, beatings, arbitrary arrests, and detentions.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

World Report 2019: Reversing Autocrats’ Attacks on Rights

Thursday 17 January 2019

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Suspected Plotters Tortured

Wednesday 09 January 2019

Length 01:50

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0
Greece: Violent Pushbacks at Turkey Border

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 00:50

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Harassment of Environmental Activists

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 03:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: New Groups Killing Afro-Colombians

Thursday 13 December 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Adult Prospects Dim for Youth with Disabilities

Thursday 06 December 2018

Length 005:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Barriers to Free Movement for Older People

Thursday 29 November 2018

Length 01:10

2 0 4 0 0 0
US: Cervical Cancer Deaths Up for Black Women

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Length 05:18

3 0 2 0 0 0
Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 04:19

3 0 0 0 0 0
Israel: Airbnb to End Settlement Rentals

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Monday 19 November 2018

Length 4:44

3 0 4 0 0 0
Venezuela: Numbers Highlight Health Crisis

Thursday 15 November 2018

0 0 26 0 1 0
Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 00:37

6 0 0 0 0 0