Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Libya: Nightmarish Detention for Migrants, Asylum Seekers

EU and Italy Bear Responsibility, Should Condition Cooperation

Monday 21 January 2019


(Brussels, January 21, 2019) – European Union policies contribute to a cycle of extreme abuse against migrants in Libya, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The EU and Italy’s support for the Libyan Coast Guard contributes significantly to the interception of migrants and asylum seekers and their subsequent detention in arbitrary, abusive detention in Libya. The 64-page report, “No Escape from Hell: EU Policies Contribute to Abuse of Migrants in Libya,” documents severe overcrowding, unsanitary conditions, malnutrition, and lack of adequate health care. Human Rights Watch found violent abuse by guards in four official detention centers in western Libya, including beatings and whippings. Human Rights Watch witnessed large numbers of children, including newborns, detained in grossly unsuitable conditions in three out of the four detention centers. Almost 20 percent of those who reached Europe by sea from Libya in 2018 were children. 

GRAPHICS (5)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
If Not Now, When?

Thursday 07 May 2020

Length 03:36

3 0 10 0 0 0
Into the Abyss

Monday 04 May 2020

Length 00:50

5 0 5 0 2 0
Greece: Refugees Working to Protect Moria Camp from Covid-19

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Length 02:16

1 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Dam Displacement Destroys Livelihoods

Thursday 16 April 2020

Length 02:12

2 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Unsafe Water Raises COVID-19 Risks

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Length 03:51

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kids Talk Coronavirus

Thursday 09 April 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 Response Update

Tuesday 07 April 2020

Length 02:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Latin America: Cut Prison Crowding to Fight COVID-19

Thursday 02 April 2020

Length 00:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 : A Human Rights Perspective

Wednesday 01 April 2020

Length 01:57

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ohio, Texas Use COVID-19 to Stop Abortions

Friday 27 March 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Hungary’s Orban Uses Pandemic to Seize Unlimited Power

Wednesday 25 March 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
People are Mobilizing to Help During the COVID-19 crisis

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Security Forces Disappear, Torture Children

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 02:30

1 0 4 0 0 0