Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

A Trail of Death after Another Dam Collapses in Brazil

84 Killed, 276 Missing in Mining Waste Sludge in Brumadinho

Wednesday 30 January 2019

(São Paulo, January 30, 2019) – The dam collapse in Brazil on January 25 that killed 84 was the second such tragedy in just over three years, pointing to weak oversight by the government and urgent need for reforms.

Satellite imagery recorded before and after the collapse of a tailing dam near the city of Brumadinho shows the extent of the destruction.

MAP/SATELLITE (2)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

DR Congo: Police Killed, ‘Disappeared’ 34 Youth

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Length 02:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: End Ankara Ban on LGBTI Events

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Length 02:15

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Scant Help to Bring Home ISIS Members’ Children


Monday 11 February 2019

Length 02:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Video Footage Shows Extreme Violence, Abuse

Sunday 10 February 2019

Length 1:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Mass Sexual Harassment, Caught on Tape

Friday 08 February 2019

Length 00:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
Poland: Women’s Rights Supporters Targeted

Wednesday 06 February 2019

Length 03:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
Cambodia: Acid Attack Survivors Denied Treatment, Justice

Monday 04 February 2019

Length 03:44

3 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Peaceful Critics Prosecuted

Thursday 31 January 2019

Length 2:15

2 0 0 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: 10 Reasons Why Women Flee

Thursday 31 January 2019

Length 01:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
A Trail of Death after Another Dam Collapses in Brazil

Wednesday 30 January 2019

0 0 0 0 2 0
Libya: Displaced Population Can’t Go Home

Thursday 24 January 2019

Length 02:03

2 0 0 0 0 0
Pakistan: Garment Workers’ Rights at Risk

Tuesday 22 January 2019

Length 2:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Libya: Nightmarish Detention for Migrants, Asylum Seekers

Monday 21 January 2019

Length 01:36

1 0 0 5 0 0
World Report 2019: Reversing Autocrats’ Attacks on Rights

Thursday 17 January 2019

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Suspected Plotters Tortured

Wednesday 09 January 2019

Length 01:50

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0
Greece: Violent Pushbacks at Turkey Border

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 00:50

1 0 0 0 0 0