Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Kazakhstan: Education Barriers for Children with Disabilities

End Segregation; Ensure Inclusive Education in Mainstream Schools

Thursday 14 March 2019


(Almaty, March 14, 2018) – Most children with disabilities in Kazakhstan are not getting a quality, inclusive education, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Although the Kazakh government has taken some important steps to better protect the rights of children with disabilities, much more needs to be done to ensure equal access to education for all children. The 72-page report, “‘On the Margins’: Education for Children with Disabilities in Kazakhstan” shows that Kazakhstan’s education system segregates and isolates children with disabilities. Even for children who can access schools in their communities, most are taught in separate classrooms with other children with disabilities. Thousands are in special schools for children with disabilities, often far from their homes. Others are educated at home, with a teacher visiting for a few hours per week at best. Children in closed psychiatric institutions receive very little or no education.


MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Tajikistan: Barriers to Aid for Domestic Violence Victims

Thursday 19 September 2019

Length 04:59

3 0 0 7 0 0
Brazil: Criminal Networks Target Rainforest Defenders

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Length 07:04

3 0 6 0 0 0
Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Length 01:37

2 0 0 3 0 0
France: Immigrant Children Being Denied Protection

Thursday 05 September 2019

Length 03:46

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Meatpacking Workers' Rights Under Threat

Wednesday 04 September 2019

Length 01:03

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: End Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nigeria: Anguish, Poverty Confront Trafficking Survivors

Tuesday 27 August 2019

Length 01:47

1 0 0 1 0 0
Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Thursday 22 August 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 2 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Attacks on Civilians in Border Area

Thursday 08 August 2019

Length 01:53

2 0 5 0 0 0
South Africa: Decriminalize Sex Work

Wednesday 07 August 2019

Length 05:08

3 0 0 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: Coup Trial Travesty of Justice

Friday 02 August 2019

Length 03:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mashrou’ Leila is Lebanon’s Latest Free Speech Victim

Friday 26 July 2019

Length 00:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Water Crisis in Basra

Monday 22 July 2019

Length 03:57

3 0 5 4 2 0
Lebanon: Syrian Refugee Shelters Demolished

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 01:35

2 0 0 0 0 0
Crimean Tatars Face Unfounded Terrorism Charges

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 03:55

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Congo Warlord Guilty of Crimes Against Humanity

Monday 08 July 2019

Length 01:59

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Government Co-Opting Recovery Efforts

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 02:06

2 0 0 0 0 0