Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

-

Tuesday 18 June 2019


(Nairobi, June 18, 2019) – The Guinean government has razed thousands of homes in the country’s capital, Conakry, leaving families struggling to find adequate housing, Human Rights Watch said today. The government has provided no alternative accommodation or compensation to those displaced, in contravention of international human rights law.   Between February and May 2019, more than 20,000 people were displaced after bulldozers and other heavy machinery demolished buildings and forcibly evicted residents from the Kaporo-Rails, Kipé 2, Dimesse, and Dar Es Salam neighborhoods. Guinea’s government said that the land belongs to the state and will be used for government ministries, foreign embassies, businesses, and other public works.

MORE AFRICA
ALL STORIES

Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Length 01:37

2 0 0 3 0 0
Nigeria: Anguish, Poverty Confront Trafficking Survivors

Tuesday 27 August 2019

Length 01:47

1 0 0 1 0 0
South Africa: Decriminalize Sex Work

Wednesday 07 August 2019

Length 05:08

3 0 0 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: Coup Trial Travesty of Justice

Friday 02 August 2019

Length 03:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Congo Warlord Guilty of Crimes Against Humanity

Monday 08 July 2019

Length 01:59

2 0 0 0 0 0
Gambia: Women Accuse Ex-President of Sexual Violence

Wednesday 26 June 2019

Length 03:42

2 0 4 0 0 0
Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

Tuesday 18 June 2019

Length 01:25

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Senegal: Unchecked Abuses in Quranic Schools

Tuesday 11 June 2019

0 0 9 0 0 0
South Sudan: Government Forces Abusing Civilians

Tuesday 04 June 2019

Length 02:07

2 0 0 0 0 0
Liberia: Video Appeal for War Crimes Court

Tuesday 14 May 2019

Length 01:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
AU: Uphold Rights Body’s Independence

Friday 26 April 2019

Length 01:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Activists in Mining Areas Harassed

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Length 05:33

3 0 5 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: UN Review Should Highlight Abuses

Tuesday 09 April 2019

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Cameroon: New Attacks on Civilians By Troops, Separatists

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 01:55

1 0 0 0 2 0
Zimbabwe: Excessive Force Used Against Protesters

Monday 11 March 2019

Length 03:22

1 0 0 0 0 0
Rwanda: A Year On, No Justice for Refugee Killings

Saturday 23 February 2019

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0