Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Gambia: Women Accuse Ex-President of Sexual Violence

Investigate Yahya Jammeh for Rape, Sexual Assault

Wednesday 26 June 2019


(Dakar, June 26, 2019) – Three women have accused Gambia’s former president, Yahya Jammeh, of rape and sexual assault while he was in office, Human Rights Watch and TRIAL International said today. Former Gambian officials said that presidential aides regularly pressured women to visit or work for Jammeh, who then sexually abused many of them. 

Jammeh is currently in Equatorial Guinea, where he sought exile after losing the 2016 presidential election to Adama Barrow. A Gambian Truth, Reconciliation and Reparations Commission (TRRC) is documenting human rights violations committed during Jammeh’s 22 years in power, including sexual violence allegations. The TRRC and the Gambian government should ensure that allegations of rape and sexual violence by Jammeh and other former top officials are fully investigated, and, if warranted, prosecuted.

PHOTOS (4)

MORE AFRICA
ALL STORIES

ICC: Congo Warlord Guilty of Crimes Against Humanity

Monday 08 July 2019

Length 01:59

2 0 0 0 0 0
Gambia: Women Accuse Ex-President of Sexual Violence

Wednesday 26 June 2019

Length 03:42

2 0 4 0 0 0
Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

Tuesday 18 June 2019

Length 01:25

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Senegal: Unchecked Abuses in Quranic Schools

Tuesday 11 June 2019

0 0 9 0 0 0
South Sudan: Government Forces Abusing Civilians

Tuesday 04 June 2019

Length 02:07

2 0 0 0 0 0
Liberia: Video Appeal for War Crimes Court

Tuesday 14 May 2019

Length 01:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
AU: Uphold Rights Body’s Independence

Friday 26 April 2019

Length 01:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Activists in Mining Areas Harassed

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Length 05:33

3 0 5 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: UN Review Should Highlight Abuses

Tuesday 09 April 2019

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Cameroon: New Attacks on Civilians By Troops, Separatists

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 01:55

1 0 0 0 2 0
Zimbabwe: Excessive Force Used Against Protesters

Monday 11 March 2019

Length 03:22

1 0 0 0 0 0
Rwanda: A Year On, No Justice for Refugee Killings

Saturday 23 February 2019

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Police Killed, ‘Disappeared’ 34 Youth

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Length 02:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Video Footage Shows Extreme Violence, Abuse

Sunday 10 February 2019

Length 1:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Harassment of Environmental Activists

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 03:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0