Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Lebanon: Syrian Refugee Shelters Demolished

Coercive Measures Intensify Pressures to Return to Syria

Friday 12 July 2019


(Beirut) – The Lebanese Armed Forces demolished about 20 Syrian refugee shelters on July 1, 2019, contending they did not comply with long-existing, but largely unenforced, housing codes, Human Rights Watch said. The armed forces also have been forcing refugees living in semi-permanent shelters on agricultural land to dismantle their own shelters’ concrete walls and roofs and replace them with less protective materials, or face army demolition of their homes. The forced shelter dismantlement under an order by the Higher Defense Council significantly reduces the adequacy of refugee housing to withstand harsh weather conditions, particularly in the Arsal region, where winters are severe.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Colombia/Venezuela: Armed Groups Control Lives at Border

Wednesday 22 January 2020

Length 02:08

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chinese Government Poses Global Threat to Human Rights

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Length 02:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0
Surge in Garment Industry Transparency

Wednesday 18 December 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 2 0 0
Israel/West Bank: Grant Palestinians Equal Rights

Tuesday 17 December 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Failure to End Abuses in Quranic Schools

Monday 16 December 2019

0 0 11 0 0 0
Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ethnic Discrimination a Key Barrier

Thursday 12 December 2019

Length 02:06

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Camp Conditions Endanger Women, Girls

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 03:01

2 0 7 0 0 0
Gambia: Commission Uncovers Ex-Dictator’s Alleged Crimes

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 04:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Children Denied Education

Monday 02 December 2019

Length 01;00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Development Banks Linked to Palm Oil Abuses

Monday 25 November 2019

Length 01:00

2 0 11 0 5 0
Sudan: Justice Needed for Protester Killings

Monday 18 November 2019

Length 01:11

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Defamation Laws Used to Silence Critics

Friday 15 November 2019

Length 02:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
Algeria: Escalating Repression of Protesters

Thursday 14 November 2019

Length 01:41

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Teargas Cartridges Killing Protesters

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
UAE: Political Detainees Languish Behind Bars

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Croatia Slams Door on Migrants

Friday 08 November 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0