Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

  • © 2019 Sam Tarling
  • © 2019 Sam Tarling
  • © 2019 Letta Tayler/Human Rights Watch
  • © 2019 Sam Tarling
  • © 2019 Sam Tarling
  • © 2019 Sam Tarling
  • © 2019 Sam Tarling

Syria: Dire Conditions for ISIS Suspects’ Families

Countries Should Support Citizens’ Returns, Increase Aid

Tuesday 23 July 2019


(Al-Hol, Northeast Syria, July 23, 2019) – The Kurdish-led Autonomous Administration for northeast Syria is holding more than 11,000 foreign women and children related to Islamic State (also known as ISIS) suspects in appalling and sometimes deadly conditions in a locked desert camp in northeast Syria, Human Rights Watch said today. At least 7,000 of the children are under 12. During three visits to the section of al-Hol camp holding foreign women and children in June 2019, Human Rights Watch found overflowing latrines, sewage trickling into tattered tents, and residents drinking wash water from tanks containing worms. Young children with skin rashes, emaciated limbs, and swollen bellies sifted through mounds of stinking garbage under a scorching sun or lay limp on tent floors, their bodies dusted with dirt and flies. Children are dying from acute diarrhea and flu-like infections, aid groups and camp managers said.

PHOTOS (7)

MAP/SATELLITE (1)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Kenya: No Letup in Killings by Nairobi Police

Thursday 20 February 2020

Length 01:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
Vietnam: LGBT Youth Unprotected

Thursday 13 February 2020

0 0 4 0 0 0
Syria: Address Fate of Missing Victims of ISIS

Tuesday 11 February 2020

Length 03:13

2 0 0 0 0 0
Explosive Weapons Devastating for Civilians

Thursday 06 February 2020

Length 00:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Violent Abuses in Illegal Gold Mines

Tuesday 04 February 2020

Length 00:48

2 0 0 0 0 0
Rights After Brexit

Saturday 01 February 2020

Length 01:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Armed Groups Control Lives at Border

Wednesday 22 January 2020

Length 02:08

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chinese Government Poses Global Threat to Human Rights

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Length 02:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0
Surge in Garment Industry Transparency

Wednesday 18 December 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 2 0 0
Israel/West Bank: Grant Palestinians Equal Rights

Tuesday 17 December 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Failure to End Abuses in Quranic Schools

Monday 16 December 2019

0 0 11 0 0 0
Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ethnic Discrimination a Key Barrier

Thursday 12 December 2019

Length 02:06

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Camp Conditions Endanger Women, Girls

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 03:01

2 0 7 0 0 0
Gambia: Commission Uncovers Ex-Dictator’s Alleged Crimes

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 04:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Children Denied Education

Monday 02 December 2019

Length 01;00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Development Banks Linked to Palm Oil Abuses

Monday 25 November 2019

Length 01:00

2 0 11 0 5 0