Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Regulation, Oversight Urgently Needed to Protect Miners

Thursday 22 August 2019


(Tbilisi, August 22, 2019) – The safety of workers in Georgia’s mines is at serious risk due to insufficient government regulation and resulting mining practices that prioritize production quotas and put workers’ safety in jeopardy, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today.

The 60-page report “‘No Year without Deaths’: A Decade of Deregulation Puts Georgian Miners at Risk documents how weak labor protections and limited government oversight have allowed mining practices that undermine safety to flourish. Georgian labor law does not sufficiently regulate working hours, rest time, weekly breaks, and night work, and does not provide for government oversight of all labor conditions.

PHOTOS (2)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Egypt: Security Forces Abuse, Torture LGBT People

Thursday 01 October 2020

Length 03:49

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: New York Police Planned Assault on Bronx Protesters

Wednesday 30 September 2020

Length 12:43

3 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Security Forces Failed to Stem Election Violence

Friday 25 September 2020

Length 03:27

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Officials’ Pandemic Response Impaired Right to Vote

Tuesday 22 September 2020

Length 3:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Widespread Xenophobic Violence

Thursday 17 September 2020

Length 00:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Covid-19 Rules Blocked Access to Pensions

Wednesday 16 September 2020

Length 02:10

1 0 0 0 0 0
Australia: Deaths of Prisoners with Disabilities

Tuesday 15 September 2020

Length 02:11

2 0 5 0 0 0
Belarus: Systematic Beatings, Torture of Protesters

Tuesday 15 September 2020

Length 02:17

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Aid Obstruction Puts Millions at Risk

Monday 14 September 2020

Length 02:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Bolivia: Justice System Abused to Persecute Opponents

Friday 11 September 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
Argentina: Legalize Abortion

Monday 31 August 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
Lebanon: Lethal Force Used Against Protesters

Wednesday 26 August 2020

Length 04:02

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Amazon Fires Affect Health of Thousands

Tuesday 25 August 2020

Length 03:53

1 0 0 1 3 0
Myanmar: Rohingya Await Justice, Safe Return 3 Years On

Sunday 23 August 2020

Length 01:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: Indigenous Kids at Risk of Malnutrition, Death

Wednesday 12 August 2020

Length 06:43

3 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthis Kill, Expel Ethiopian Migrants

Thursday 06 August 2020

Length 03:12

2 0 7 0 0 0
India: Abuses Persist in Jammu and Kashmir

Monday 03 August 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Belarus: Crackdown on Political Activists, Journalist

Thursday 30 July 2020

Length 01:25

1 0 0 0 0 0