Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Nigeria: Anguish, Poverty Confront Trafficking Survivors

End Detention in Shelters, Provide More Support

Tuesday 27 August 2019


(Abuja, August 27, 2019) – Many survivors of sex and labor trafficking struggle with unaddressed health challenges, poverty, and abhorrent conditions upon their return to Nigeria, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Nigerian authorities have failed to provide the assistance that survivors need to rebuild their lives and have unlawfully detained many of the already traumatized women and girls in shelters.

The 90-page report, “‘You Pray for Death’: Trafficking of Women and Girls in Nigeria,” provides detailed accounts of how human trafficking operates in Nigeria. Human Rights Watch found that the nightmare does not end for survivors who manage to return home. The Nigerian government should take steps to address the serious health conditions, social exclusion, and poverty faced by survivors, and stop further traumatizing survivors by detaining them in shelters.

GRAPHICS (1)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Ethiopian Migrants

Thursday 06 August 2020

Length 03:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
India: Abuses Persist in Jammu and Kashmir

Monday 03 August 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Belarus: Crackdown on Political Activists, Journalist

Thursday 30 July 2020

Length 01:25

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Mau Forest Evictees’ Plight Intensifies

Thursday 23 July 2020

Length 02:18

2 0 0 0 0 0
Japan: Child Abuse in Pursuit of Olympic Medals

Monday 20 July 2020

Length 01:30

1 0 4 0 0 0
The Future We Build Together

Monday 13 July 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Alabama Sex-Ed

Wednesday 08 July 2020

Length 02:55

3 0 0 0 0 0
Canada: Bring Home ISIS Suspects and Relatives from Syria

Monday 29 June 2020

Length 02:14

2 0 0 0 0 0
Take Action to #KeepWaterOn in the US

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
Jordan: Secondary School Gap for Syrian Refugee Kids

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
France: Children Face Abusive, Racist Police Stops

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 04:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
#RatifyC190: End Violence, Harassment at Work

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 02:39

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mexico: Families Abuse, Neglect People with Disabilities

Thursday 04 June 2020

Length 02:13

1 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0