Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Tajikistan: Barriers to Aid for Domestic Violence Victims

Gaps in Government Response Put Women’s Lives at Risk

Thursday 19 September 2019


The Tajik government takes little action to investigate or prosecute domestic violence cases and is doing far too little to help survivors, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Despite progress in some areas, Tajik law does not criminalize domestic violence and women who experience abuse lack adequate protection and access to shelter and other services.

“‘Violence with Every Step’: Weak State Response to Domestic Violence in Tajikistan,” documents obstacles to help or justice for domestic abuse survivors. Despite laws that guarantee survivors’ rights to protection and social services, Human Rights Watch found ongoing gaps in police and judicial responses to domestic violence, including refusing to investigate complaints, failing to issue or enforce protection orders, and treating domestic violence as a minor offense. Human Rights Watch also released a video with domestic violence survivors describing the hurdles they faced when trying to get protection.

GRAPHICS (7)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

#MeToo Movement’s Second Anniversary

Monday 14 October 2019

Length 02:40

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brussels: Innovative Mental Health Support

Thursday 10 October 2019

Length 03:25

3 0 0 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Little Help for Conflict-Linked Trauma

Monday 07 October 2019

Length 01:18

1 0 0 9 0 0
Guinea: A Decade Later, No Justice for Massacre

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Length 02:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
World Leaders: Stand for Democracy and Human Rights at UNGA

Tuesday 24 September 2019

Length 00:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
Indonesia: Indigenous Peoples Losing Their Forests

Sunday 22 September 2019

Length 05:02

3 0 12 0 0 0
Tajikistan: Barriers to Aid for Domestic Violence Victims

Thursday 19 September 2019

Length 04:59

3 0 0 7 0 0
Brazil: Criminal Networks Target Rainforest Defenders

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Length 07:04

3 0 6 0 0 0
Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Length 01:37

2 0 0 3 0 0
France: Immigrant Children Being Denied Protection

Thursday 05 September 2019

Length 03:46

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Meatpacking Workers' Rights Under Threat

Wednesday 04 September 2019

Length 01:03

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: End Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nigeria: Anguish, Poverty Confront Trafficking Survivors

Tuesday 27 August 2019

Length 01:47

1 0 0 1 0 0
Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Thursday 22 August 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 2 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Attacks on Civilians in Border Area

Thursday 08 August 2019

Length 01:53

2 0 5 0 0 0
South Africa: Decriminalize Sex Work

Wednesday 07 August 2019

Length 05:08

3 0 0 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: Coup Trial Travesty of Justice

Friday 02 August 2019

Length 03:22

2 0 0 0 0 0