Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

France: Immigrant Children Being Denied Protection

Flawed Procedures in Alps Region Mirror Those in Paris, Elsewhere

Thursday 05 September 2019


(Paris, September 5, 2019) – Unaccompanied children arriving in France’s Alpine region undergo flawed age assessment procedures that deny many access to needed protection, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The 80-page report, “Subject to Whim: The Treatment of Unaccompanied Migrant Children in the French Hautes-Alpes,” found that examiners whose job is to certify a child’s status as a minor – that is, under age 18 – do not comply with international standards. Human Rights Watch found that examiners use various justifications to deny children protection. These include children’s minor mistakes with dates, their reluctance to discuss particularly traumatic experiences in detail or work they did in home countries or while in transit, and what examiners deem as unrealistic life goals.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Tajikistan: Barriers to Aid for Domestic Violence Victims

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Length 04:59

3 0 0 7 0 0
Brazil: Criminal Networks Target Rainforest Defenders

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Length 07:11

1 0 6 0 0 0
Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Length 01:37

2 0 0 3 0 0
France: Immigrant Children Being Denied Protection

Thursday 05 September 2019

Length 03:46

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Meatpacking Workers' Rights Under Threat

Wednesday 04 September 2019

Length 01:03

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: End Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nigeria: Anguish, Poverty Confront Trafficking Survivors

Tuesday 27 August 2019

Length 01:47

1 0 0 1 0 0
Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Thursday 22 August 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 2 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Attacks on Civilians in Border Area

Thursday 08 August 2019

Length 01:53

2 0 5 0 0 0
South Africa: Decriminalize Sex Work

Wednesday 07 August 2019

Length 05:08

3 0 0 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: Coup Trial Travesty of Justice

Friday 02 August 2019

Length 03:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mashrou’ Leila is Lebanon’s Latest Free Speech Victim

Friday 26 July 2019

Length 00:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Water Crisis in Basra

Monday 22 July 2019

Length 03:57

3 0 5 4 2 0
Lebanon: Syrian Refugee Shelters Demolished

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 01:35

2 0 0 0 0 0
Crimean Tatars Face Unfounded Terrorism Charges

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 03:55

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Congo Warlord Guilty of Crimes Against Humanity

Monday 08 July 2019

Length 01:59

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Government Co-Opting Recovery Efforts

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 02:06

2 0 0 0 0 0