Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Nigeria: People With Mental Health Conditions Chained, Abused

Ban Chaining; Provide Mental Health Services

Monday 11 November 2019


Thousands of people with mental health conditions across Nigeria are chained and locked up in various facilities where they face terrible abuse, Human Rights Watch said today. Detention, chaining, and violent treatment are pervasive in many settings, including state hospitals, rehabilitation centers, traditional healing centers, and both Christian and Islamic faith-based facilities. People with mental health conditions should be supported and provided with effective services in their communities, not chained and abused.
MORE PHOTOS AVAILABLE ON 11/11.

PHOTOS (3)

MORE AFRICA
ALL STORIES

Guinea: Security Forces Failed to Stem Election Violence

Friday 25 September 2020

Length 03:27

2 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Widespread Xenophobic Violence

Thursday 17 September 2020

Length 00:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthis Kill, Expel Ethiopian Migrants

Thursday 06 August 2020

Length 03:12

2 0 7 0 0 0
Belarus: Crackdown on Political Activists, Journalist

Thursday 30 July 2020

Length 01:25

1 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Gangs Kidnap, Rape in National Park

Thursday 30 July 2020

Length 02:05

1 0 2 0 0 0
Kenya: Mau Forest Evictees’ Plight Intensifies

Thursday 23 July 2020

Length 02:18

2 0 0 0 0 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
Guinea: Dam Displacement Destroys Livelihoods

Thursday 16 April 2020

Length 02:12

2 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Unsafe Water Raises COVID-19 Risks

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Length 03:51

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: No Letup in Killings by Nairobi Police

Thursday 20 February 2020

Length 01:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Failure to End Abuses in Quranic Schools

Monday 16 December 2019

0 0 11 0 0 0
Gambia: Commission Uncovers Ex-Dictator’s Alleged Crimes

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 04:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Justice Needed for Protester Killings

Monday 18 November 2019

Length 01:11

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nigeria: People With Mental Health Conditions Chained, Abused

Monday 11 November 2019

Length 03:11

2 0 3 0 0 0
Guinea: A Decade Later, No Justice for Massacre

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Length 02:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Length 01:37

2 0 0 3 0 0
Nigeria: Anguish, Poverty Confront Trafficking Survivors

Tuesday 27 August 2019

Length 01:47

1 0 0 1 0 0