Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Syria: Address Fate of Missing Victims of ISIS

Prioritize Sharing Information, Protect Mass Graves

Tuesday 11 February 2020


(Beirut, February 11, 2020) – The authorities in Syria should address as a priority what happened to people who disappeared in the custody of the Islamic State (also known as ISIS) while the group controlled parts of Syria, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Authorities in de facto control of areas formerly under ISIS control should make information-sharing with families a priority and help create a formal system to address the issue of the missing and allow families to register their cases. 

The 57-page report, “‘Kidnapped by ISIS’: Failure to Uncover the Fate of Syria’s Missing,” highlights 27 cases of individuals or groups apprehended by ISIS and last heard of in its custody before the group’s military defeat. They include activists, aid workers, journalists, and anti-ISIS fighters from a range of groups, government and anti-government, as well as residents living under ISIS control. While the number of missing is uncertain, the Syrian Network for Human Rights has documented 8,143 cases of people detained by ISIS whose fate remains unknown.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
If Not Now, When?

Thursday 07 May 2020

Length 03:36

3 0 10 0 0 0
Into the Abyss

Monday 04 May 2020

Length 00:50

5 0 5 0 2 0
Greece: Refugees Working to Protect Moria Camp from Covid-19

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Length 02:16

1 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Dam Displacement Destroys Livelihoods

Thursday 16 April 2020

Length 02:12

2 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Unsafe Water Raises COVID-19 Risks

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Length 03:51

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kids Talk Coronavirus

Thursday 09 April 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 Response Update

Tuesday 07 April 2020

Length 02:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Latin America: Cut Prison Crowding to Fight COVID-19

Thursday 02 April 2020

Length 00:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 : A Human Rights Perspective

Wednesday 01 April 2020

Length 01:57

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ohio, Texas Use COVID-19 to Stop Abortions

Friday 27 March 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Hungary’s Orban Uses Pandemic to Seize Unlimited Power

Wednesday 25 March 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
People are Mobilizing to Help During the COVID-19 crisis

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Security Forces Disappear, Torture Children

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 02:30

1 0 4 0 0 0