Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Kenya: No Letup in Killings by Nairobi Police

Evidence removed From Scenes; Failure to Investigate

Thursday 20 February 2020


(Nairobi, February 20, 2020) – Since December 25, 2019, police in Kenya have shot dead at least eight people in Nairobi’s Mathare, Kasarani, and Majengo settlements, Human Rights Watch said today. The police continue to kill crime suspects and protesters in cold blood despite persistent calls to end the killings and the use of excessive force. 
The killings are the latest in a longstanding pattern of excessive force and unlawful killings in Nairobi’s low-income neighborhoods. Kenyan authorities should urgently investigate all alleged killings, many of which have been documented by Kenyan and international organizations, and ensure that all those responsible are held to account.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Ohio, Texas Use COVID-19 to Stop Abortions

Friday 27 March 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Hungary’s Orban Uses Pandemic to Seize Unlimited Power

Wednesday 25 March 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
People are Mobilizing to Help During the COVID-19 crisis

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Security Forces Disappear, Torture Children

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 02:30

1 0 4 0 0 0
Respect Rights in COVID-19 Response

Friday 20 March 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: End Violence Against Asylum Seekers at Border

Tuesday 17 March 2020

Length 01:48

2 0 0 0 0 0
China: Tibetan Children Denied Mother-Tongue Classes

Wednesday 04 March 2020

Length 01:30

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greek Crackdown on Refugees

Wednesday 04 March 2020

Length 01:54

4 0 0 0 0 0
US: Vote 2020 with Nicole Austin-Hillery

Monday 24 February 2020

Length 04:06

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: No Letup in Killings by Nairobi Police

Thursday 20 February 2020

Length 01:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
Vietnam: LGBT Youth Unprotected

Thursday 13 February 2020

0 0 4 0 0 0
Syria: Address Fate of Missing Victims of ISIS

Tuesday 11 February 2020

Length 03:13

2 0 0 0 0 0
Explosive Weapons Devastating for Civilians

Thursday 06 February 2020

Length 00:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Violent Abuses in Illegal Gold Mines

Tuesday 04 February 2020

Length 00:48

2 0 0 0 0 0
Rights After Brexit

Saturday 01 February 2020

Length 01:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Armed Groups Control Lives at Border

Wednesday 22 January 2020

Length 02:08

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chinese Government Poses Global Threat to Human Rights

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Length 02:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0