Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

UN Human Rights Council Should Promote Justice for Killings

Wednesday 27 May 2020


(Manila, May 27, 2020) – Thousands of children in the Philippines have suffered lasting physical, emotional, and economic harm from President Rodrigo Duterte’s abusive “war on drugs,” Human Rights Watch said in a report and accompanying video released today. Governments at the United Nations Human Rights Council in June 2020 should support an independent international investigation into the “drug war” killings in the Philippines, including violations against children.

The 48-page report, “‘Our Happy Family Is Gone’: Impact of the ‘War on Drugs’ on Children in the Philippines,” details the plight of children whose parents or guardians have been killed. Many children have suffered psychological distress, and all experienced economic hardship made worse by the death of a family breadwinner. The increased poverty and trauma have led many children to leave school or compelled them to work. Some children who lost a family member have faced bullying in their school and community. Some were forced to live on the streets.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Egypt: Security Forces Abuse, Torture LGBT People

Thursday 01 October 2020

Length 03:49

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: New York Police Planned Assault on Bronx Protesters

Wednesday 30 September 2020

Length 12:43

3 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Security Forces Failed to Stem Election Violence

Friday 25 September 2020

Length 03:27

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Officials’ Pandemic Response Impaired Right to Vote

Tuesday 22 September 2020

Length 3:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Widespread Xenophobic Violence

Thursday 17 September 2020

Length 00:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Covid-19 Rules Blocked Access to Pensions

Wednesday 16 September 2020

Length 02:10

1 0 0 0 0 0
Australia: Deaths of Prisoners with Disabilities

Tuesday 15 September 2020

Length 02:11

2 0 5 0 0 0
Belarus: Systematic Beatings, Torture of Protesters

Tuesday 15 September 2020

Length 02:17

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Aid Obstruction Puts Millions at Risk

Monday 14 September 2020

Length 02:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Bolivia: Justice System Abused to Persecute Opponents

Friday 11 September 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
Argentina: Legalize Abortion

Monday 31 August 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
Lebanon: Lethal Force Used Against Protesters

Wednesday 26 August 2020

Length 04:02

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Amazon Fires Affect Health of Thousands

Tuesday 25 August 2020

Length 03:53

1 0 0 1 3 0
Myanmar: Rohingya Await Justice, Safe Return 3 Years On

Sunday 23 August 2020

Length 01:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: Indigenous Kids at Risk of Malnutrition, Death

Wednesday 12 August 2020

Length 06:43

3 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthis Kill, Expel Ethiopian Migrants

Thursday 06 August 2020

Length 03:12

2 0 7 0 0 0
India: Abuses Persist in Jammu and Kashmir

Monday 03 August 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Belarus: Crackdown on Political Activists, Journalist

Thursday 30 July 2020

Length 01:25

1 0 0 0 0 0