Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Ukraine: Covid-19 Rules Blocked Access to Pensions [UKRAINIAN]

Restrictions That Pushed People into Poverty Lifted, But More Reform Needed

Wednesday 16 September 2020


(Kyiv, August 3, 2020) – Ukraine has lifted travel restrictions on residents of non-government areas in the east that had largely prevented them from accessing their pensions and pushed them further into poverty, Human Rights Watch said today. The restrictions, imposed in March 2020 in response to Covid-19, meant that for over four months, pensioners had to cut back dramatically on food, medication, and necessary hygiene products.

Lifting the restrictions was an important step. However, the Ukrainian government did not amend other rules that impose undue hardship on older people, who must still cross into government-held territory every 60 days to collect their pensions rather than being allowed to appoint an authorized representative to receive it for them. Significant Covid-related travel restrictions also remain in place on the non-government side.

MORE EUROPE/CENTRAL ASIA
ALL STORIES

People with Mental Health Conditions Living in Chains

Tuesday 06 October 2020

Length 05;15

2 0 28 0 0 0
UK: Automated Benefits System Failing People in Need

Tuesday 29 September 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 21 0 0 0
Ukraine: Covid-19 Rules Blocked Access to Pensions

Wednesday 16 September 2020

Length 02:10

1 0 0 0 0 0
Belarus: Systematic Beatings, Torture of Protesters

Tuesday 15 September 2020

Length 02:17

1 0 0 0 0 0
France: Children Face Abusive, Racist Police Stops

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 04:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Women with Disabilities Face Systemic Abuse

Tuesday 28 April 2020

Length 01:54

1 0 2 0 0 0
Greece: Refugees Working to Protect Moria Camp from Covid-19

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Length 02:16

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: End Violence Against Asylum Seekers at Border

Tuesday 17 March 2020

Length 01:48

2 0 0 0 0 0
Greek Crackdown on Refugees

Wednesday 04 March 2020

Length 01:54

4 0 0 0 0 0
Rights After Brexit

Saturday 01 February 2020

Length 01:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ethnic Discrimination a Key Barrier

Thursday 12 December 2019

Length 02:06

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Camp Conditions Endanger Women, Girls

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 03:01

2 0 7 0 0 0
Croatia Slams Door on Migrants

Friday 08 November 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tajikistan: Barriers to Aid for Domestic Violence Victims

Thursday 19 September 2019

Length 04:59

3 0 0 7 0 0
France: Immigrant Children Being Denied Protection

Thursday 05 September 2019

Length 03:46

2 0 0 0 0 0
Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Thursday 22 August 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 2 0 0 0
Crimean Tatars Face Unfounded Terrorism Charges

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 03:55

2 0 0 0 0 0